The Local Hero Awards Dinner 2016

March 20, 2016
5:30-8:30 pm

Celebrating Our Local Heroes,
Fifteen Years of Bay Nature Magazine,
& 100 Years of the National Park Service

 Click here for photos of this event.

Featured Guest:
Christine Lehnertz, Superintendent
Golden Gate National Recreation Area

$150* per person

Proceeds support Bay Nature Institute


Host Committee
Lee Ballance & Mary Selkirk
Louis Berlot & Joyce Cutler
Barbara L. Bessey
Kim & Robert Carroll
Christopher & Kathryn Dann
Catherine Fox
Marilyn & Nat Goldhaber
Jorgen Hildebrandt
Harriet & Robert Jakovina
Jenni Martin & Andrea Mackenzie
Mia Monroe
Maryann Rainey
Sara Sanderson & Eric Weaver
Sam Schuchat
Tim Tosta & Nancy Martin
Bart & Nancy Westcott
Organizational Sponsors
East Bay Regional Park District
Golden Gate National Parks Conservancy
Google, Inc.
Greenbelt Alliance
Martin Family Foundation
Midpeninsula Regional Open Space District
Pacific Gas & Electric Company
Peninsula Open Space Trust
Presidio Trust
San Francisco Public Utilities Commission
Santa Clara Valley Open Space Authority
Santa Clara Valley Water District
Save The Redwoods League
Sempervirens Fund
Shute, Mihaly & Weinberger, LLP
Sonoma County Agricultural Preservation &
Open Space District
Sonoma County Water Agency
Stamen Design
The Trust for Public Land
Union Bank
In-Kind Sponsors
Clif Family Winery
Commerce Printing
Hafner Vineyards

Honorary Committee

Steve Abbors, General Manager – Midpeninsula Regional Open Space District
Deb Callahan, Executive Director – Bay Area Open Space Council
Robert E. Doyle, General Manager – East Bay Regional Park District
José González, Founder and CEO of Latino Outdoors
Mike Honda, Congressperson, CA 17th District
Jared Huffman, Congressperson, CA 2nd District
Jane Kim, Supervisor, San Francisco County
Barbara Lee, Congressperson, CA 13th District
Zoe Lofgren, Congressperson, CA 19th District
Greg Moore, President & CEO, Golden Gate National Parks Conservancy
Walter T. Moore, President, Peninsula Open Space Trust
Cicely Muldoon, Superintendent, Point Reyes National Seashore
Danita Rodriguez, Superintendent – California State Parks, Bay Area District
Joseph Simitian, Supervisor, Santa Clara County

*The tax-deductible portion of each ticket is $50.

For more information, contact:
Associate Director Judith Katz (510)528-8550 x105,