Nominate your Local Hero!

Each year, four Bay Area conservation heroes are honored at our annual gala, Bay Nature’s Local Hero Awards. Nature advocates, outdoor enthusiasts, and conservation agency & nonprofit leaders come together to celebrate our Local Heroes and enjoy an hors d’oeuvres reception, elegant sit-down dinner, and nature-themed auction. Mark your calendar! This year’s Local Hero Awards will take place on March 22, 2020 at the Berkeley City Club.

Do you have a friend, co-worker, or family member who is helping to connect the people of the Bay Area to our natural world? Nominate your Local Hero today!


1. Conservation Action Award
This award goes to an individual who has made significant contributions to the conservation of the natural landscapes, wildlife, and/or flora of the San Francisco Bay Area, through advocacy, legal action, acquisition, and/or stewardship.

2. Environmental Educator Award
This award recognizes the achievements of an individual who has made significant contributions to public understanding and awareness of the natural history and ecology of the San Francisco Bay Area, through research, teaching, field trips, journalism, and/or other media.

3. Young Leader Award
This award will celebrate an environmental leader, 25 years old or younger, who is making significant contributions towards understanding, conserving, and/or connecting people to the natural world of the Bay Area. The Young Leader will receive a gift of $500 to support their professional development.

4. Citizens Hero Award
This award celebrates an individual whose grassroots activities have had a transformative impact on the natural world of the Bay Area.

All nominees must live or work in the greater Bay Area and be involved in work that has a significant impact within the region. View a list of past award recipients here. Nominations are open through August 1, 2019. Final selections will be made by the board and staff of Bay Nature.

Please fill out this form to nominate your Local Hero:

Nominations are now closed. To learn more about the event, check

For information about tickets, sponsorship opportunities, and silent auction items, contact, or call (510) 528-8550 x103.